Are these changes Historical?

Let's talk about Gettysburg! Put your questions and comments here.
Nick
Reactions:

Are these changes Historical?

Post by Nick »

I increased the rifle and rifled muskets range to 300 yards. Some rifles and rifled muskets have a range greater than 300 yards but most have a shorter range of 275, 250, and 225 yards. To make sure that artillery would not be outgunned the range for canister increased to 350 yards but the minimum range for other shell types is 300 yards. The range for canister was taken from the game manual. I am not an expert on the American Civil War but it is most likely that the close ranges of engagements were created by the tactics used by the commanding officers, training the solders got, and by the terrain that prevents the combatants from seeing each other. The accuracy and range of rifled small arms allowed the solders to engage their targets at extremely long range for the 1800’s. Further; the lack of effective increase of firepower as the range gets smaller in the game allows bayonet charges and hand to hand combat to be more effective than it was historical. But the question is; are the ranges that I made more or less historical or I am deluding myself?
Marching Thru Georgia
Reactions:

Re: Are these changes Historical?

Post by Marching Thru Georgia »

Nick wrote:
But the question is; are the ranges that I made more or less historical or I am deluding myself?
You are deluding yourself. Paddy Griffith and others have done in depth studies of this topic. The average engagement range was ~120 yd. So the stock range of 160 yd. is fine.
Last edited by Marching Thru Georgia on Sun Jul 29, 2012 5:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
I can make this march and I will make Georgia howl.
garyknowz
Reactions:

Post by garyknowz »