Lost Avenue Scenario

Stuck in a part of the game. Here's where the Grogs help the Newbies. Share your best strategies for winning and try someone elses.
born2see
Reactions:

Lost Avenue Scenario

Post by born2see »

As a complete newbie I'm having a problem winning this scenario. First I moved a company up to contact as instructed. I then moved the rest of the regiment for support. I can see my objective sitting right in the middle of a Union brigade. I tried just engaging the Union skirmishers and lost. I then tried to take the objective (not a good idea) and got reprimanded for creating a general engagement as well as getting my butt kicked.

I think I understand that to screen the main force is to keep the Union occupied and away from the Confederate left flank. So what am I doing wrong? Not looking for a detailed explanation on how to win, just some friendly advice.

Thanks
"Those in whose judgment I rely, tell me that I fought the battle splendidly and that it was a masterpiece of art.” - George McClellan to his wife describing the battle of Antietam
Little Powell
Reactions:

Re: Lost Avenue Scenario

Post by Little Powell »

As a complete newbie I'm having a problem winning this scenario. First I moved a company up to contact as instructed. I then moved the rest of the regiment for support. I can see my objective sitting right in the middle of a Union brigade. I tried just engaging the Union skirmishers and lost. I then tried to take the objective (not a good idea) and got reprimanded for creating a general engagement as well as getting my butt kicked.

I think I understand that to screen the main force is to keep the Union occupied and away from the Confederate left flank. So what am I doing wrong? Not looking for a detailed explanation on how to win, just some friendly advice.

Thanks